Overview

A reconciliation should be the final sign-off of an account, saying these transactions are confirmed as matching an actual bank transaction. Changing the transaction after the fact would make the reconciliation no longer valid.

You should not complete a reconciliation with incorrect information, so DoorLoop doesn’t allow changing reconciled transactions after the fact, as this would break your financial records.

How does this safety feature help me?

Stopping you from editing the amount of a reconciled transaction is a safety feature. If DoorLoop allowed you to edit the amount of the reconciled transaction, your financials and reports would then be incorrect, maybe without you even realizing it. This would create future auditing headaches!

For example, let's say there are multiple users on your DoorLoop account. You perform an account reconciliation confirming transactions. Later, one of your colleagues incorrectly believes they need to change one of these transactions. DoorLoop will allow your colleague to change the details of a transaction (such as the date, property, general ledger account, and description), but not the amount. The accuracy of your financial data remains protected!

Couldn't someone just undo the reconciliation?

The only way to edit a reconciled transaction is to completely undo the reconciliation for the account for time period including this transaction.

To prevent one of your colleagues from being able to do this, you can limit their access so they can't undo reconciliations. This way they can't wreck your financials without you knowing. (Use this video to learn how to set up user roles. Just make sure the bank reconciliation options are unchecked!)

This is also a common anti-fraud measure, as responsibility for reconciliation and entering transactions is often split between different people.

Did this answer your question?